My New John Deere S680 Riding Lawn Mower

Filling up the gas tank of my new John Deere S680 Riding Lawn Mower at the local Kwik Trip

Filling up the gas tank of my new John Deere S680 Riding Lawn Mower at the local Kwik Trip. You can see part of the mower head out in front of the tractor.

In a previous post I wrote about desiring a new lawn mower. Well my desire has come to be, I took delivery of my new John Deere S680 Riding Lawn Mower from Riesterer & Schnell today. With a 42 foot mowing head, this mower is really fantastic. It’s hopper is big enough to store a season’s worth of grass clippings.  I will only need to visit the compost center once a year. What a time saver. The gas tank is even big enough to last me a season, WOW.

Only one problem, the gas tank was almost empty so I found myself driving to the local Kwik Trip. Like all new vehicles, I was very careful during my first drive.

Note to the Village of Plover- sorry about that stop sign down the street.  I was so attentive to making sure the mower head did not damage the mail box on the left side of the road when making my turn onto Adams Street that I did not even notice the stop sign on the right. Luckily the mower head was so good the post was neatly clipped at 1.5 inches above the ground and the sign was completely deposited in the hopper in neatly chopped pieces. Very cool.

Pulling into Kwik Trip, I backed the mower to a gas pump only to realize the gas tank was on the opposite side of the mower.  No problem, I have had the same issue with a number of rental cars.  I confidently climbed back into the cab and guided the mower over to another pump.

I had to be really careful because if I had taken out one of those pumps like I did the stop sign, it would have been 4th of July in April. The resulting fire display would have been impressive.

While I was pumping gas, one of the former owners of Three Acres came over to look over my mower. He asked if I would consider mowing his property for him.  Seems as if the company that bought his golf course with the intent of building a huge water ski park went belly up without doing any construction. This is despite the Village spending tons of money putting in all kinds of infrastructure to handle all the folks who would flock to the complex. Long story short, he is getting his former property back. He will be opening a new golf course, this time a bit bigger with more acreage. I understand it will be named Four Acres Golf Course.

Once I got home, my next door neighbor came over to view my S680. Boy, was he impressed. He suggested that if I had another 10 seconds or so while mowing my lawn, I should just keep going and cut his grass as well.  What a great idea.

With all the attention I am getting, I am considering starting a lawn mowing service. I am thinking my phone number could be 663 244-66937 (ONE BIG MOWER).

Well, gotta go. I will write more about my new mower later.  Right now I am heading over to Roberts Irrigation to check out one of their big irrigation sprinkler heads.  I am hoping to mount it on my chimney and water the whole yard from one central location.

View my Wisconsin photos on Pinterest

Return to MD Leader Home Page

Tags: , , , ,

13 Responses to “My New John Deere S680 Riding Lawn Mower”

  1. Sandy Moynihan Says:

    Good one!!

  2. Bob Says:

    Forgot what day it was should have known

  3. sandersonp Says:

    I love my new lawn mower, a 42 foot mower head really gets the job done fast.

  4. sandersonp Says:

    It’s alway nice to have a little fun in life.

  5. My New Lawn Sprinkler | MD Leader Says:

    […] week (on April 1st My New John Deere S680 Riding Lawn Mower) I mentioned going over to Roberts Irrigation to look at agriculture sprinkler heads.  They just […]

  6. Mayhem in My Yard!!! | MD Leader Says:

    […] This week I was reminded of that concept once again.  I am sorry to tell you that I had to return My New John Deere S680 Riding Lawn Mower  to the dealer and I now have my chimney mounted sprinkler system up for […]

  7. Best home theater receiver 2014 Says:

    Hello Dear, are you genuinely visiting this website regularly, if so afterward you will without doubt
    obtain fastidious knowledge.

  8. Laticia D. Shin Says:

    This piece of writing offers clear idea in support of the new people of blogging,
    that actually how to do running a blog.

  9. Twanna I. Gobler Says:

    It’s amazing designed for me to have a web page, which is valuable for my know-how.

    thanks admin

  10. Idell O. Siedel Says:

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    justification seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole
    thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  11. Daine E. Harding Says:

    If you wish for to get much from this article then you have to apply
    such techniques to your won blog.

  12. Gabriel S. Rosie Says:

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m inspired!
    Very useful info specifically the last section 🙂 I care for
    such information much. I used to be seeking this particular information for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  13. Valarie C. Cardone Says:

    Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the
    images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same
    outcome.

Leave a Reply

