Hoar Frost on the Wisconsin River

On a crisp clear winter morning, river fog coats trees with a fine hoar frost. Wisconsin River in the Village of Whiting. Click on the image for a larger image.

On a crisp clear winter morning, river fog coats trees with a fine hoar frost. Wisconsin River in the Village of Whiting. This a panoramic image constructed from five separate images. Click on the image for a larger version.

Capturing satisfying images during the winter is a challenge and always takes a little luck.

First there is the challenge of operating a camera in the bitter cold. Cold will severely reduce the usefulness of your battery.  I keep my camera in the house at night and then bring it out to the cold car already setup on my tripod in the morning.  I let the car warm up for about 10 minutes.  This allows the car and camera gear to slowly warm up. On really cold days, I take the battery out of the camera and keep it in an inside pocket.

Second is location. Nearly all of my winter locations have been scouted and pre-visualized months before when the weather is much warmer. Most of my images are captured early morning when temperatures are the coldest.  I simply do not have the luxury of leisurely scouting winter locations during image capture.

During scouting I look for locations near roadways.  Your car then can always serve as a portable warming hut.  I generally keep the car running, the driver window partially open and the doors unlocked.  I want to reduce/eliminate the possibility of locking myself out of the car or having trouble starting it. I look for locations near open water and scenes that will have color during the winter.

I believe your best images tend to be of locations that you have an emotional connection with or intimate knowledge of.  For me that means locations close to home. I do my best to schedule personal travel during times of the day best suited for image capture and then choose my route to drive by one of my pre-scouted locations.

Every once and while, I come upon a scene when the light and conditions are just right and I am lucky enough to get a satisfying image.  Yup, I get lucky.  As my Dad always told me, “The harder you work, the luckier you get.”

Thanks Dad.

View my Wisconsin photos on Pinterest

Return to MD Leader Home Page

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

