Wisconsin River

The Wisconsin River is approximately 430 miles long running from Lac Vieux Desert in northern Wisconsin (on the Wisconsin/Michigan border) to  Prairie du Chien where it empties into the Mississippi River. It’s basin covers 12,280 sq. miles or 1/5 of the state.

Glaciation has changed the course and the character of the river. The River between Merrill and Stevens Point drained meltwater away from the retreating glaciar.  As it flows south of Stevens Point through central Wisconsin, it meanders across the flat bottom of the former glacial Lake Wisconsin. This glacial lake was formed by an ice dam near Wisconsin Dells some 15,000 years ago. When the ice dam catastrphically burst, the entire contents of glacial Lake Wisconsin emptied carving the rock formations seen at Wisconsin Dells.

This image was captured at sunrise near Stevens Point, Wisconsin.

Click here to see image location in Google Maps

Return to MD Leader Home Page

Tags: , , , ,

14 Responses to “Wisconsin River”

  1. Will Weider Says:

    Apparently, you see a lot more sunrises than I do. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. sandersonp Says:

    We all have our internal clock. My internal clock wakes me by about 5 AM each morning. If I stay around the house, I make noise and get all family members upset with me. Far better to go out and enjoy the beautiful Wisconsin sunrises.

  3. jairy hunter Says:

    Spectacular, Pete.

  4. sandersonp Says:

    Landscape photography (acutally all photography) is about light and the moment. When the moment is right, and the light is perfect, spectacular results can happen. I had been to this location dozens of times until the light was right. I have enjoyed each of my visits, this one is also remembered as an image.

  5. luap777 Says:

    Beautiful shot 🙂

  6. Nancy Tierney Says:

    You’re extremely talented, Dr. Sanderson. Having spent my adolescence in the Point area, I am appreciative of the beauty you’ve captured. Thank you so much for sharing your work!

  7. Tina P. Says:

    It almost does’nt look real. At first, i thought it was a painting. Very beautiful.

  8. kyle Says:

    i fish there all the time..spill way action

  9. Amanda Says:

    Hello,

    My name is Amanda and I am a music teacher for a k-2 children’s choir. I would like to use the photograph featured on this web page of the beautiful river and the mist. I would like to use it as a visual aide in my classroom, since we are learning the songs “Where Go the Boats” set to poetry by Robert Louis Stevenson. Please let me know if I have permission to use this image.

    Thank you so much!

    Amanda White
    Willamette Girlchoir
    Salem, OR

  10. Mike Bender Says:

    Dear Sir,

    My name is Mike Bender, I am a Firefighter with the Whiting Wisconsin Fire Rescue Department. One of my assignments with the department is co-webmaster for the Village of Whiting Website and Whiting Fire Rescue Website. I wanted to reach out to you because we are looking for semi and professional photographs from the Whiting area to feature on our website re-design. If you have any photographs from Whiting that are not published, I would love to view them and ask for your permission to use them. Please contact me as your time permits, and thank you. E-Mail: bender.whitingfd@hotmail.com

  11. Erin Baal Says:

    I think this photo is beautiful. Is there a way I can order a print of it? We have a client who is going through kemo and she said she would really enjoy a photograph of the Wisconsin River. Let me know if there is a way to order a copy!

  12. Most Reviewed Posts for 2012 « MD Leader Says:

    […] Wisconsin River […]

  13. mflahertyphoto Says:

    Beautiful image!

  14. sandersonp Says:

    Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

